2013 Caldecott Medal Winner

Along with the Newberry Medal, the Caldecott Medal is the most prestigious award of its kind to recognize the best children’s picture books beginning in 1937.  The 2013 Caldecott Medal winner has been announced by the American Library Association, and this year the distinguished recipient is Jan Klassen for This is Not My Hata tale of a determined small fish who steals a blue hat from a larger fish.  Five additional outstanding children’s books were chosen to receive the Caldecott Honor.  Those five recipients are:

Creepy Carrots!

Creepy Carrots! by Reynolds, Aaron; illustrator Brown, Peter

Extra YarnExtra Yarn by Barnett, Mac; illustrator Klassen, Jon



Green by Seeger, Laura Vaccaro; illustrator Seeger, Laura Vaccaro

One Cool FriendOne Cool Friend by Buzzeo, Toni; illustrator Small, David
Sleep Like a TigerSleep Like a Tiger by Logue, Mary; illustrator Zagarenski, Pamela